Boer War

The war between the British and the two Dutch South African republics – the Boer War – began on 11 October 1899 when the Boers declared war on the British. It lasted until 31 May 1902 when Lord Kitchener and General Botha signed a treaty, the Peace of Vereeniging.  Australia, as part of the British Empire, offered troops from the six separate colonies and from 1901, the new Australian Commonwealth.